Fresh baked “Fong Bao” from the oven – 方包出爐

Random musings & meditations straight from the oven. Hopefully some food for thought as well…

R-E-F-R-I-E-D is a 7 letter word

z-tile (* = Lingo alert. Please refer to the lingo page)

For the past 2 months Pie Pie Lo* has been playing a lot, and I mean A LOT, of Scrabble.

PC version. Online version. iPhone version. Old school board version.

Against Maven the PC. Against her friends. Against strangers. Against Fong Bao.

There’s a Chinese saying: 

失敗乃成功之母 – Failure is the mother of success

Whoever coined that phrase, I just want to let that person know I’ve lost 20 straight games to Pie Pie Lo* and that kid named “success” has yet to show up outside my Oven*.

Admittedly I’m just a novice but you would think a blind squirrel would find an acorn once in awhile. Well apparently not……yet. So far I think I’ve lost in just about every way imaginable: By a small margin and a large margin; by drawing nothing but the same vowels and hanging onto certain letters for too long.; by making and losing rash word challenges and getting caught with terrible bluffs.

But nothing beats being “bingo-ed”.

Ever had one to start the game? Well………

Refried

My reaction?

WHAT?! INCONCEIVABLE!

Completely and utterly shocked!

So much so that I had to snap a bread crumb* as a memento.

Just like that. Down 80 points before I had a chance to arrange my letters. But surprisingly that game turned out to be a close one.

So what’s the upside to this, you ask?  For starters, I’m still motivated to get that elusive first “W”. As well, I’ve managed to get a couple of bingos myself. Here’s one.

Vintage

Quite a “vintage-d” accomplishment if I may say so myself. (i.e. just pumping my own tires)

And I think I’m becoming a better player. While 300 is still a pipe dream, 200 is definitely reachable. If and when you see me use vocab like “Qi” or “Ja” on The Oven*, you’ll know I have arrived as a competent Scrabble player.

Until next time,

Goodbye Friends

G-O-O-D-B-Y-E    (Max 86 points to start. Double letter score on “Y”)

F-R-I-E-N-D-S      (Max 80 points to start. Double letter score on “F”)

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

