Fresh baked “Fong Bao” from the oven – 方包出爐

Random musings & meditations straight from the oven. Hopefully some food for thought as well…

On Your Mark

(* = Lingo alert)

Miga

As mentioned in the last loaf*, I completed a few things on my To-Do list in the past 1.5 weeks. One of them was to submit my application to volunteer during the 2010 Olympic Games.

Ever since Vancouver won the bid to host the Winter Games, I knew I wanted to be part of it as a spectator.

Needless to say I was disappointed after losing out on the ticket lottery. At that point I realized my only way to participate in the Winter Games would be to volunteer.

However, there was a problem. Quatchi & Sumi

The Bakery* does not allow us to take vacations during February because of RSP season. Any volunteering opportunities would then be limited to evenings and weekends. Because of that, I was hesitant to apply.

Luckily, The Bakery* happens to be one of the major Olympic sponsors in Canada. In an effort to encourage staff participation during the Winter Games, a communication was sent out recently to outline a special vacation policy for February 2010. In my case, I would be allowed to take up to 3 days. With that, I finally got around to filling out my application and I’ve been asked to attend a training session in May where I will be interviewed.

Wish me luck!

Item du jour

2 Comments»

  Grace Cha wrote @

That’s cool! I wish you luck.

[…] mentioned in my previous loaf* titled “On Your Mark” (which happens to be the slogan for the Vancouver 2010 Winter Games volunteer program), I had […]


Leave a Reply

