Fresh baked “Fong Bao” from the oven – 方包出爐

Random musings & meditations straight from the oven. Hopefully some food for thought as well…

On Your Mark. Get Set.

(* = Lingo alert)

As mentioned in my previous loaf* titled “On Your Mark” (which happens to be the slogan for the Vancouver 2010 Winter Games volunteer program), I had submitted my application to become a volunteer. This morning I took my first step towards that after attending a 3 hour orientation session at the PNE. It began with a security check followed by a 10 minute one-on-one interview. I was chosen to be part of the transportation group but its role is more than driving. The other function is to be first contacts for people arriving at the venues not knowing which direction to go. Directing people traffic, so to speak. So during my interview I stated my preference to be a host instead of a driver. Hopefully the organizers will take that into consideration.

Volunteer Training BinderThe rest of the morning was spent inside a large classroom where a detailed overview of the games was presented. And all the participants received a training binder (A VERY nice one) along with a sticker and a pin as souvenirs. In the fall, we will receive notifications confirming our duties at the games. Accreditations and uniforms will be issued soon after and role-specific training will take place just prior to the games. It is likely I will start in January and complete my duties at the conclusion of the Paralympics games in March. I’m excited and looking forward to this once-in-a-lifetime experience.

*******

Some odds and ends

After the session this morning I met up with Pie Pie Lo* for lunch since she had the afternoon off. So we went to a new ramen shop that was recommended by my parents. G-men ramen is a little shop located at Continental Plaza in Richmond. Judging by the small queue outside on a Monday, there must be something to this shop.

Click here for the gallery and further details on the menu.

Saturday I drove down to Safeco Field in Seattle to watch the Mariners for the first time in 3 years. Happy to spent a nice day at a beautiful ball park that, hard to believe, will celebrate its 10th anniversary in June. It gave me a chance, as well, to catch up with a couple of friends I haven’t talked to for some time. All in all, a great way to start my holidays.

Click here for the gallery. 

Absolutely thrilled that Everton once again finished as “Best of the rest” considering the terrible start to their season. Now it’s onto the F.A. Cup final at Wembley this Saturday. Come on you Blues!

Finally, an admission.

I’ve started playing Pet Society and Restaurant City on Facebook. Insert joke here.

Item du jour

Say Hello to my little friend!

Sparky 1

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

