Fresh baked “Fong Bao” from the oven – 方包出爐

Random musings & meditations straight from the oven. Hopefully some food for thought as well…

Of Olympics, food and Twitter

The long awaited email arrived in my in-box today. I’ve been offered a position as a Vancouver 2010 Olympics volunteer: the load zone attendant. I have no idea what the mandate is but it’s confirmed that  I’ll be working at the Richmond Olympic Oval. More information should be forthcoming in the fall as well as feedback on my application for the Paralympic games.

*******

I came across this link the other day on Twitter and it got me thinking about food. Honestly, I would not hesitate in trying some of the items on the site but after looking at pages upon pages of artery-clogging-goodness, I got a bit sick. Too much of a good thing, I suppose. Or was it too much of a bad thing?

It’s only been in the last few years that I’ve gained a better understanding and appreciation for the food I eat. Certain things are meant to be enjoyed as is and if you remove certain elements, it loses its flavour and character. Roast pork is not the same without the skin and/or the fat. That being said, be mindful of the quantity. Have just enough so you can savour the taste.

While I’m not sure I’m discipline enough to adhere to a strict diet or cut out certain foods, my goal moving forward is to be balanced and to control the portions as much as possible. (Not to mention getting myself back on an excercise program, pronto!)

Eat what I enjoy and enjoy what I eat, but in moderation.

*******

TwitterTomorrow will be exactly 2 months since I started to “Twitt”. While I’m still trying to figure out how to respond and forward “tweets”, I think Twitter has found a niche in my social networking universe. It’s a new way of getting information (since I mostly follow reporters and columnists) as well as a means to be entertained. I’ve laughed out loud on numerous occasions after reading some rather witty “tweets.”

I don’t think I’ll ever become a hardcore “Twitter” but it fits well with “The Oven” in its current form and hopefully I’ll have more interesting things to “twitt” about in the future.

Item du jour

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

