Fresh baked “Fong Bao” from the oven – 方包出爐

Random musings & meditations straight from the oven. Hopefully some food for thought as well…

無辣不歡? – Spicy enough for you?

Chili 2童年時跟一般小孩子一樣都不喜歡吃辣,但偏偏己故的母親對吃辣樂此不疲,甚至乎到達狂熱的地步,那時的我很不明白。更令我想不通的,是為什麼炎炎夏日,很多人就算辣到滴汗也要吃?那豈不是「有自唔在,攞苦嚟辛。」(後來才明白吃辣而出汗是有助人體降温的作用。)

Chili Crab2人大了,開始接觸不同的美食,而對辣亦漸漸產生好奇。久不久也會作一些嘗試,但都是點到即止,談不上是真真正正的吃辣。近幾年來,Pie Pie Lo 越吃越辣。可能因為這緣故,開始主動選擇刺激自己的味蕾:泡菜,喇沙,紅油抄手,酸辣湯,冬蔭公,印度及泰式咖哩,吃麵加辣油,甚至 Subway 的三文治也要加兩種不同的辣椒,吃得+分之「過癮」!難道方包己踏上吃辣的不歸路?!

其實吃辣是一門高深的學問,而現在的我也只是接觸了冰山的一角,還有很多有待發掘。更高層次的麻辣更是遙不可及。

究竟方包可以吃得幾辣,有待分解。

*******

Kimchi 2Like many kids, I was not a fan of spicy food in my childhood. Yet my late mother was very fond of, perhaps obsessed about, spicy food. At the time, I didn’t understand why. And for the life of me, I couldn’t figure out why some people, on a hot summer day/night, would consume spicy food despite sweating profusely afterwards. Don’t these people have better things to do?! (Later on I learned that when you sweat after eating spicy food, it actually cools your body down.)

Tom Yum GoongAs I got older and exposed myself to different types of cuisine, my curiosity for spicy food gradually grew. Every now then I would experiment but only to a point, as I was reluctant to go “all-in”. For the past few years, Pie Pie Lo has started to eat spicier foods. That maybe the reason why I’ve made a conscious effort to stimulate my taste buds: Kimchi, Laksa, Wontons in Chili oil, Hot & Sour soup, Tom Yum Goong, East Indian & Thai curry, adding chili oil to my noodles and ordering Subway with Jalapenos and banana peppers. I was hooked. Could it be that Fong Bao has reached the point of return when it comes to spicy food?!

Eating spicy food is actually a complex subject and my experience thus far is only the tip of the iceberg. There are still lots to be discovered, not to mention another realm of spiciness that’s way beyond me.

Just how spicy can Fong Bao tolerate? Only time will tell…….

Item du jour

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

