Fresh baked “Fong Bao” from the oven – 方包出爐

Random musings & meditations straight from the oven. Hopefully some food for thought as well…

Hot Pot – 拾下拾下

Dual soup baseThere is sort of a love-hate relationship between me and hot pot.

On one hand, I can’t think of a better way to spend a chilly evening than with family and/or a bunch of friends huddling around a pot of hot, steaming broth cooking, eating and chatting away. And I like the control/ freedom/ flexibility – whatever you want to call it – that hot pot offers. From ingredients to soup base to condiments to how you like your food cooked, the level of customization is without equal.

The full spreadThe companyThe reserves

But a few not-so-pleasant experiences in the past have gotten me, and my tummy, jaded about hot pot: Undercooked food. Bad mix of condiments. The feeling of not being “full”. Too much sour plum juice. And -“Hot Air/Yit Hey/熱氣”- the one Chinese word that doesn’t translate at all. So while I don’t mind having hot pot, it’s not something that I’ve actively pursued for the past few years.

Then in the span of a week and a half, I’ve gone hot potting 3 times and it seems to have rekindled my interest in this form of communal dining experience. Pie Pie Lo half jokingly said that we should have hot pot every night.  Well…I’m not sure about THAT…….

The Favorites

Item du jour

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

