Fresh baked “Fong Bao” from the oven – 方包出爐

Random musings & meditations straight from the oven. Hopefully some food for thought as well…

Witnessing a transformation

The year was 2007 and the Canucks returned to the playoffs and faced the Dallas Stars in the first round. It was also the first NHL postseason after I got married and Pie Pie Lo – who doesn’t really watch sports – decided to watch game 1 with me after it went to overtime. Three and a half OT periods later, she started to gain a little appreciation for hockey. So for the rest of that spring we watched every Canuck playoff game but she couldn’t understand why I get grumpy after every loss.

Fast forward to tonight. After an apparent goal by Daniel Sedin was disallowed, I simply shook my head in disbelief and proceeded to update my Facebook status on my crackberry. Sitting to my right, Pie Pie Lo started complaining out loud about the decision. By the end of the night, I had moved on while Pie Pie Lo got grumpy and said she was, somewhat, sad. At that point, it dawned on me that she has finally become a fan – one that would get emotional about a team, win, lose or draw. And watching a game will never be the same as it has now taken on a whole new meaning.

Back during World Cup 2006, Pie Pie Lo got mad at me because I was agitated and looked visibly upset after England lost to Portugal (don’t get me started on that match) after penalty kicks.

Tonight I said to her, “So now you understand why I get grumpy and upset when my favorite sports teams lose?”

With a smile on her face, she nodded.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

