Fresh baked “Fong Bao” from the oven – 方包出爐

Random musings & meditations straight from the oven. Hopefully some food for thought as well…

Time to hang ’em up?

Last Sunday I went out and play some footy with the lads. Can’t remember the last time I kicked the ball around but it must have been at least 2 years. A few hours before we played, I was joking with someone that I would needed to load up on carbs, bananas, V-8 and at least 30 minutes of warm-up to ensure I don’t cramp up after 15 minutes. (Once I had to leave a game because BOTH of my legs cramped up at the same time after contesting a 50/50 ball with someone…….) At the end I didn’t have a V-8 nor did I warm up for more than 5 minutes. I murmured to myself that things could end very badly in a hurry.

Surprisingly I played for over an hour, in constant rain, without incident and just when I thought I would survive the session, something freakish happened. I intercepted a ball and proceeded to run at the last defender that’s between me and the goal. As I was doing a poor imitation of C. Ronaldo’s signature step-over move, the ball shifted slightly on the wet turf and my left foot stepped onto it. I slipped, lost my balance and the back of my head hit the field turf as I landed on my back.

With all the recent increase in awareness on head traumas, I was a bit worried that I may have suffered a concussion since the lads told me that my fall, apparently, looked kind of bad. The fact that I was able to remember everything right before and after the incident tells me I was very fortunate to escape serious injuries. In hindsight I have to thank those little black plastic pellets underneath the field turf which cushioned my fall some what. Nonetheless I wasn’t myself as I moved around gingerly the rest of the evening. Then Monday morning came and I paid dearly for not warming up sufficiently as my neck, shoulders and abs were really sore. I had a hard time just getting out of bed and I could barely turn my head the entire day.

As of today I think I’m pretty much back to normal but now the question is on the back of my mind:

What if I fall on my head again in the near future?

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

