Fresh baked “Fong Bao” from the oven – 方包出爐

Random musings & meditations straight from the oven. Hopefully some food for thought as well…

久遣了,筆劃 – Long time, no write.

Charlie-Brown-Writing屈指一算,方包已經二+三年沒有用中文寫作。現在抱着戰戰兢兢的心情再次拾筆,真不知道會寫出一篇甚麼的文章。論文采,方包欠這方面的天份,只求能清楚表達自已,那便心滿意足。

很多在温哥華結識的香港朋友都以為方包是一個土生土長的「竹升」。可能是我的言行舉止不似一個香港人。久不久在華人商場或夜市會發生以下的對話:

方包(廣東話): 唔該,幾多錢呀?

服務員(英文): Too doll la n fee tee send ($2.50)

方包 : ……. 

而一班土生的朋友卻說方包是一個 “Honger” (香港人) 。原因是我聽中文歌,讀中文報章雜誌,追看無線劇集,唱K等等。所以有時無奈地覺得自己像一個「兩邊唔到岸」的邊緣人,一個名符其實的 Ching-lish 人。

慶幸在加國因為工作和教會事情的需要,能夠保持自己中文水平沒有太大的退步。但有時寫字還需花少許時間去「諗」筆劃。在此要鳴謝新買的小蒙恬。如果不是它的出現,相信方包不會寫出這篇文章。因為他實在沒有太多空餘的時間去學習一律中文輸入法。

很高興兩語部落格的目標終於達成。希望方包能夠藉此保持他的中文寫作水平。

Translation

At last count, it’s been 23 years since Fong Bao wrote a piece in Chinese. With a nervous heart, I write again and I honestly don’t know how it will turn out. I’m not a gifted writer so I’d be happy if I can simply express myself clearly.

A lot of Hong Kong friends I met in Vancouver thought I was local born. I suppose my demeanor is not very “Hong Kong” at all. Every now and then at Chinese malls or the night market, the following dialogue would take place:

Fong Bao (in Catonese) : Excuse me, how much is this?

Clerk (in English): Too doll la n fee tee send ($2.50)

Fong Bao: …….

As for my local born friends, they all say that I’m a “Honger”. Reason being that I listen to Canto-Pop; I read Chinese newspapers and magazines; I watch TVB dramas & programs; I sing karaoke, etc. That’s why sometimes I’m resigned to the thought that I don’t quite belong to either groups, more like a Ching-lish-man.

Luckily because of work and Church, I’ve been able to use and maintain my Chinese without losing too much of it. But there are times when I still need to think about the strokes of certain characters when I write. Hence I would like to thank my newly acquired Penpower Diamond Jr. If not for this little writing pad I would not have written this piece since I really don’t have a lot of spare time to learn Chinese word processing.

I’m very happy the goal of a bilingual blog has been achieved. Hopefully I can maintain my Chinese writing skills through this.

Item du jour

晶鑽小蒙恬 – PenPower Diamond Jr.

Penpower Diamond Jr

3 Comments»

  mitchell wrote @

u? karaoke?? really???

  Private blog Network wrote @

Very good website you have here but I was curious
if you knew of any message boards that cover the same topics
discussed here? I’d really like to be a part of community where I can get advice from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Thank you!

  Equipment Survey wrote @

I like the helpful information you provide in your articles.
I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I’m quite sure I will learn plenty of new stuff right
here! Best of luck for the next!


Leave a comment